Sonic Temple: 30th Anniversary

Cult, The


£19.00 - £76.00 £19.00 - £76.00
Add to your Wishlist

2019 marks the 30th Anniversary of The Cult’s epic album ‘Sonic Temple’. To celebrate the anniversary, Beggars Arkive release The Cult ‘Sonic Temple’ as a deluxe box set, a 5CD set and double LP, which has been out of print for over 20 years. The sets both contain limited-release demos in addition to previously unreleased tracks.

Originally released in 1989, ‘Sonic Temple’ proved to be a pivotal moment for both band and the wider rock scene. Produced by the legendary Bob Rock (Metallica, Bon Jovi, Aerosmith), ‘Sonic Temple’ had four hit singles; ‘Fire Woman’, ‘Edie (Ciao Baby)’, ‘Sun King’ and ‘Sweet Soul Sister’.

The album catapulted The Cult into superstar status and remains their most commercially successful release. It has sold over 1.5 million copies in the US alone and was declared platinum in 1990. It made it to #10 on the Billboard charts and the abovementioned songs are all rock-radio staples to this day.

The Cult continue to record and tour and they have released six albums since ‘Sonic Temple’, the most recent being ‘Hidden City’ in 2016. They’ve been spending 2019 celebrating this album by performing it all over the world on a tour they’ve billed as A Sonic Temple.

The box set contains three pieces of vinyl and a cassette plus tour memorabilia and ephemera (replica of original laminate, backstage pass, original press releases and label copy and more). It’s numbered and limited to 3000 pieces worldwide and contains 46 tracks, which include 4 previously unreleased. LP1 and 2 contain the album as originally released. LP3 contains Live At Wembley recorded by the BBC and the cassette contains limited-release demos. Four of the live tracks are previously unreleased.

The double LP is a re-vamped reissue of the original album. Now cut onto two pieces of black vinyl, the audio is improved and contains 16 tracks total, which comprise the original album plus 6 B-sides. It has been out of print on vinyl for over 20 years.

Buying Options ,
Format , ,

Track Listings


A1 Sun King
A2 Fire Woman
A3 American Horse
A4 Edie (Ciao Baby)

B1 Sweet Soul Sister
B2 Soul Asylum
B3 New York City
B4 Automatic Blues

C1 Soldier Blue
C2 Wake Up Time For Freedom
C3 Medicine Train (From the Edie (Ciao Baby) single)
C4 The River (From the Sweet Soul Sister single)

D1 Bleeding Heart Graffitti (from the Edie (Ciao Baby) single)
D2 Messin' Up The Blues (from the Fire Woman single)
D3 Fire Woman (NYC Rock Mix) (from the Fire Woman CD EP)
D4 Edie (Ciao Baby) (Acoustic) (From The Heart Of Soul CD single)

In Box Set

E1 New York City (Live)
E2 Automatic Blues (Live)
E3 American Horse (Live) (from the Sweet Soul Sister single)
E4 Sun King (Live)

F1 Soul Asylum (Live) (from the Sweet Soul Sister single)
F2 Sweet Soul Sister (Live) (from the Sweet Soul Sister single)
F3 Fire Woman (Live)

A1 Sonic Temple Radio Promo
A2 New York City (Demo)
A3 American Horse (Demo)
A4 Sun King (Demo)
A5 Automatic Blues (Demo)
A6 Yes Man (Demo)
A7 Wake Up Time For Freedom (Demo)
A8 Citadel (Demo)
A9 The River (Demo)

B1 The Crystal Ocean (Demo)
B2 Cashmere (Demo)
B3 Edie (Demo)
B4 Bleeding Hearts Revival
B5 Star Child (Demo)
B6 Medicine Train (Rock Demo)
B7 New York City (Rock Demo)
B8 Fire (Rock Demo)

Share this

More from Cult, The and more from Rock And Pop