Graham's picks

The Return

Sampa The Great


Barcode: 5054429138078

21.00 £21.00
  • Genre: Rap / Hip Hop
  • Label: Ninja Tune
  • Released Date: 13th September 2019
  • Buying Format:
    2LP Coloured Vinyl Gatefold Sleeve
Add to your Wishlist

Sampa The Great creates a sense of home on her debut album – The Return. A characterful record, its reference points range from classic hip-hop to ancient Southern African sounds. Built on four years of personal and musical soul-searching, it’s an assured statement, the product of meaningful musical connections and of Sampa having to redefine her self-identity away from the comforts of family and old friends. On The Return Sampa has enlisted a string of esteemed collaborators and peers to create the album.

Mixed by Jonwayne (of Stones Throw notoriety), MsM (Skepta/Boy Better Know) and Andrei Eremin (GRAMMY-nominated engineer for Hiatus Kaiyote and Chet Faker), productions are by Silentjay, Slowthai producer Kwes Darko, Clever Austin (Perrin Moss of Hiatus Kiayote), Blue Lab Beats and Syreniscreamy. The album also features collaborations with Ecca Vandal and London jazz collective Steam Down. Many of them are the fruits of the network Sampa has built since first making waves in 2015 – following time spent studying in San Francisco and LA – as a new arrival in Sydney’s hip-hop and jazz freestyle nights. Since then, she’s performed with Denzel Curry on his breakout track Black Balloons for Triple J’s Like A Version, and toured globally, supporting the likes of Kendrick Lamar, Ms. Lauryn Hill, Thundercat, Joey Bada$$, Hiatus Kaiyote, Noname, Ibeyi and Little Simz.

Buying Options
Format , ,

Track Listings

1. Mwana (featuring Mwanje Tembo, Theresa Mutale Tembo and Sunburnt Soul Choir)
2. Freedom
3. Wake Up (Interlude)
4. Time’s Up (featuring Krown)
5. Grass Is Greener
6. Dare To Fly (featuring Ecca Vandal)
7. Any Day (featuring Whosane)
8. OMG
9. Light It Up (Interlude)
10. Final Form
11. Heaven (featuring Whosane)
12. Diamond In The Ruff (featuring Thando, Krown)
13. Leading Us Home
14. Summer (featuring Steam Down)
15. Brand New (featuring SILENTJAY)
16. Give Love (Interlude)
17. The Return (featuring Thando, Jace XL, Alien, Whosane)
18. Don’t Give Up (featuring Mandarin Dreams)
19. Made Us Better (featuring Blue Lab Beats, Boadi, Lori))

Share this

More from Rap / Hip Hop