The Reason Why Vol. 2

Goran Kajfes Subtropic Arkestra


Barcode: 7320470201459

20.00 £20.00
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Label: Headspin
  • Released Date: 29th June 2015
  • Buying Format:
    180g 1LP

Out of stock

Add to your Wishlist

Goran Kajfes’ Subtropic Arkestra’s ‘The Reason Why Vol. 2’ is the hotly anticipated follow up to the Grammy-nominated and critically acclaimed album ‘The Reason Why Vol. 1’ (2013) and Nordic Music Prize-winning ‘X/Y’ (2010).

Swedish trumpeter Goran Kajfes and his eclectic Subtropic Arkestra continue their whistle-stop tour of the world with this recording of a diverse collection of songs, whose authors this time include American indie band Grizzly Bear, Cameroonian author and musician Francis Bebey, and Brazilian legend Milton Nascimento, among others. In addition, there a healthy dose of Turkish psychedelic and Balkan-inspired sounds and rhythms, which draw on Goran Kajfes’ family roots in the former Yugoslavia.

Personnel: Goran Kajfe? (trumpet, cornet, percussion, synthesizer), Per “Ruskträsk” Johansson (baritone, alto and sopranino saxophones, clarinet, flutes), Jonas Kullhammar (tenor and soprillo saxophones, clarinet, flute), Jesper Nordenström (organ, upright piano, synthesizer, omnichord), Andreas Söderström (acoustic, electric and lap steel guitar), Reine Fiske (electric guitar, mellotron), Robert Östlund (electric guitar, synthesizer), Johan Berthling (electric and acoustic bass), Johan Holmegard (drums, percussion), José Gonzáles (voice)

Buying Options
Format ,

Track Listings

1. Dokuz Seki/ Esmerim
2. Adimiz Miskindir Bizim
3. New Track
4. A Lua Girou
5. Tamzara
6. Yet Again

Share this

More from Jazz