The Ordinary Boys

Ordinary Boys, The


Barcode: 5053760017677

22.00 £22.00

Out of stock

Add to your Wishlist

THE ORDINARY BOYS return with new single ‘Four Letter Word’ and a 25-date UK tour. Released on 11th September, ‘Four Letter Word’ is the lead single from their forthcoming eponymous album, out on 2nd October 2015

After a hiatus of nearly 10 years, The Ordinary Boys are back with what is arguably their strongest album to date. Lead single ‘Four Letter Word’ is a soaring, energy driven statement of intent reminiscent of their 2004 Top 20 debut ‘Over The Counter Culture’.

A return to their former sound is no surprise, since the reformed line-up consists of the original trio – Preston, James Gregory (bass) and Charlie ‘Chuck’ Stanley (drums) – plus new member Louis Jones from celebrated power-pop band Spectrals on guitar. Preston met Louis stage-diving at a Cribs gig and, “knew immediately that I wanted him to be my new best friend/collaborator.”

Over the last year they have been busy writing and recording their new album and have enlisted Rory Atwell (the Vaccines, Veronica Falls) and MJ (of Hookworms) on production duties and Dan Lancaster (Bring Me The Horizon, Lower Than Atlantis) for mixing.

After a brief stint in the limelight following his appearance on Celebrity Big Brother in 2006, Preston has spent the last 8 years building a solid reputation as a successful songwriter, having written hits for John Newman and Example and a number one for Olly Murs with ‘Heart Skips A Beat’.

However, as fulfilling as his “day job” is, Preston says, “hanging out with Louis, all we wanted to talk about were the punk and hardcore bands that had made us pick up guitars and form bands in the first place. I made Spinal Tap-esque phone calls to James and Chuck. After promising several times that it wouldn’t sound anything like the questionable third album, we met for some beers and started rehearsing. We were 15 again.” That ‘questionable’ third album ‘How To Get Everything You Ever Wanted In Ten Easy Steps’ scored the band three Top 10 hits in 2006. Its predecessor, 2005’s ‘Brassbound’, was also a Top 20 hit, as was its lead single ‘Boys Will Be Boys’, which was re-issued in 2006 and went to No.1 in the UK charts.

“We think we have made a really special, exciting record,” Preston says. “One that has been fuelled by reunited childhood friendships, new friendships, rediscovery of the records that shaped us, and the drive to create something undeniably great. I’ve had the best year of my life making this album and we are so excited to finally be able to share it!”

Buying Options

Track Listings

1. About Tonight
2. Awkward
3. Four Letter Word
4. I’m Leaving You (And I’m Taking You With Me)
5. Losing My Cool
6. Cruel
7. Panic Attack
8. Do Or Die
9. Almost Ready
10. Putting My Heart On The Line
11. Disposable Anthem

Share this

More from Ordinary Boys, The and more from Rock And Pop