The Moonlight Sessions: Volume Two

Lyn Stanley


Barcode: 672713983071

168.00 £168.00
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Label: AT Music
  • Released Date: 16th January 2018
  • Buying Format:
    180g 2LP 45rpm

Out of stock

Add to your Wishlist

Lyn Stanley announces her BEST project to date, The Moonlight Sessions! Sure to please–every song is crafted with an unusual twist to the arrangements-the musical interpretations and the songs are meant to bring you to a new understanding of the American Songbook and pop tunes turned to jazz in her arrangements. The stellar cast of musicians and engineering team matches the quality and detail put into every aspect of this project’s two album releases in 2017: Volume One and Two. The songs include hybrid classical romantic compositions with jazz standards on some of the song selections. Chopin is combined with Jobim, you’ll hear quotes from Ravel, Mozart, Beethoven and Debussy with American Songbook jazz classics. Lyn brings her unusual creativity in music arrangements to add a new excitement to old standards.

Recording engineers: Al Schmitt and Steve Genewick
Mastered by Bernie Grundman

All vocals by: Lyn Stanley

Joining Stanley on The Moonlight Sessions, Volume Two is a top-flight band of in-demand players, including pianists Mike Garson, Christian Jacob and Tamir Hendelman; bassist Chuck Berghofer; drummers Ray Brinker, Bernie Dresel and Joe LaBarbara; percussionist Luis Conte; guitarist John Chiodini; trumpeter Chuck Findley; saxophonist Rickey Woodard; trombonist Bob McChesney; harmonica wizard Hendrik Meurkens; and harpists Corky Hale and Carol Robins; strings: Budapest SSO. Stellar recording quality makes The Moonlight Sessions, Volume Two an audiophile’s delight, and the creative arrangements will appeal to casual listeners and engage hard-core jazz aficionados. With two entertaining top-quality releases under her belt in 2017 alone, Lyn Stanley’s long-time fans and recent followers will look forward to discovering what fascinating new projects the singer has next on her agenda.”

She has also added songs to this special project from the country and pop genres and added arrangement twists with jazz applications that modernize them as they delight your ears. On board for The Moonlight Sessions are her stellar cast of musicians. Piano: Mike Garson, Christian Jacob and Tamir Hendelman; Bass: Chuck Berghofer; Drums: Joe La Barbara, Ray Brinker and Bernie Dresel; Jazz Guitar: John Chiodini; Percussion: Luis Conte; Harmonica: Hendrik Meurkens; Harp: Corky Hale, Carol Robins; Trumpet: Chuck Findley; Trombone: Bob McChesney; Tenor Sax: Rickey Woodard are all on board and recorded. This project’s arrangers include, Mike Garson, Christian Jacob, Tamir Hendelman, John Chiodini, Steve Rawlins and Doug Walter. Lyn Stanley is the Executive Producer with Co-Producers Lyn Stanley, Mike Garson and John Chiodini.

Recording Engineers: Al Schmitt & Steve Genewick. Assistant Engineers: Paul Taveneer & Spencer Guerra. Mixing Engineer: Al Schmitt. One-Step SuperSonic Vinyl Mastered by Bernie Grundman at Bernie Grundman Mastering. Pressed on Premium HQ-180 Vinyl at RTI. Recorded at The Village Recording Studio D in Los Angeles, California in February 2017.
©2017 by A.T Music LLC. All rights reserved.

Buying Options
Format , ,

Track Listings

1. Makin’ Whoopee
2. The Very Thought Of You
3. That Old Feeling
4. The Summer Knows
5. Over The Rainbow
6. How Deep Is The Ocean
7. Angel Eyes
8. At Seventeen
9. You’ve Changed
10. Smile
11. How Insensitive (Lyn Stanley with Christian Jacob)
12. Love Me Or Leave Me
13. Since I Fell For You
14. I’ll Be Seeing You

Share this

More from Lyn Stanley

More from Jazz