The Bit

Aidan Baker / Simon Goff / Thor Harris


Barcode: 4250101418822

21.00 £21.00
  • Genre: Krautrock
  • Label: GIZEH
  • Released Date: 28th August 2020
  • Buying Format:

Out of stock

Add to your Wishlist

The Bit is the second recorded collaboration between Aidan Baker (Nadja / Hypnodrone Ensemble), Simon Goff (Jóhann Johannsson / Hildur Gudnadottir) and Thor Harris (Swans, Shearwater, Thor & Friends).

Following on from 2017’s Noplace album, The Bit treads a similar path in terms of the recording process as the trio spent a day improvising at Voxton Studios in Berlin whilst on a European tour. The result was then edited and moulded into six hypnotic tracks that ebb and flow with beauty and ease.

The Bit finds the trio painting with a lighter touch than on its predecessor. Thor Harris’ motorik beats still underpin the music but the atmospherics take a more prominent role and there is a pure and cohesive path to be found throughout the record. Much like on Noplace, Baker’s guitar and Goff’s violin weave together beautifully, forming a deep bed of melody, ambience and reverb.

Given the trios credentials it’s not surprising they have created another immersive and stunning record.

Genre ,
Buying Options

Track Listings

1 Intro 00:03:18
2 The Bit 00:04:58
3 Canter 00:04:04
4 Gait 00:07:16
5 Springenden 00:03:54
6 Wild at Heart 00:22:32

Share this

More from Krautrock