Studio Albums 1978-1991

Dire Straits

SKU: ARHI567156

Barcode: 603497860548

225.00 £225.00
  • Genre: Rock And Pop
  • Label: Rhino
  • Released Date: 16th October 2020
  • Buying Format:
    8LP Box Set

Out of stock

Add to your Wishlist

Career-spanning 8LP box set: The Studio Albums 1978-1991!
First four titles mastered by Bernie Grundman from analog masters
Brothers in Arms and On Every Street mastered by Bob Ludwig from digital masters
All six albums pressed on audiophile 180-gram heavyweight vinyl

Emerging on the scene in 1977, Dire Straits became one of the most commercially successful bands of its time. Led with virtuoso skill by vocalist/guitarist, Mark Knopfler, Dire Straits was behind such hits as “Sultans of Swing,” “Brothers In Arms,” “Romeo and Juliet,” and “So Far Away.”

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame will induct Dire Straits in April 2018, honoring the legendary band’s incredible musical legacy. Rhino kicks off the celebration early with a career-spanning box set The Studio Albums 1978-1991. Bernie Grundman mastered the first four titles from analogue masters, with lacquers cut by Grundman and Chris Bellman; Brothers in Arms and On Every Street mastered by Bob Ludwig from digital masters, and cut by Chris Bellman. All are pressed on beautiful 180-gram vinyl. The CD running order with full-length versions of the tracks have been restored to Brothers In Arms, now presented as a 2xLP set, as well as a double vinyl of On Every Street.

The Dire Straits Complete Studio Albums 1978-1991 box set collects the band’s six successful studio albums spanning a time-frame of 13 years. The box set begins with the band’s self-titled debut album, followed by Communique and Making Movies released in 1979 and 1980 respectively. Love Over Gold came next, released two years later in 1982, with the band’s most successful effort, Brothers In Arms, arriving in 1985. Dire Straits’ 1991 release, On Every Street, came to be the band’s final studio album before calling it quits.

Propelled by Mark Knopfler’s literate songs, gruff vocals, and spidery guitar work, Dire Straits had overcome initial skepticism for their resistance to ’70s new wave accents in favor of their rootsy traditionalism. The band’s sound was based upon the laid-back blues-rock of J.J. Cale, but they also had jazz and country inflections, occasionally dipping into the epic song structures of progressive rock.

Buying Options
Format ,

Track Listings

Disc: 1
1. Down To The Waterline
2. Water Of Love
3. Setting Me Up
4. Six Blade Knife
5. Southbound Again
6. Sultans Of Swing
7. In The Gallery
8. Wild West End
9. Lions

Disc: 2
1. Once Upon A Time In The West
2. News
3. Where Do You Think You're Going
4. Communique
5. Lady Writer
6. Angel Of Mercy
7. Portobello Belle
8. Single Handed Sailor
9. Follow Me Home

Disc: 3
1. Tunnel Of Love
2. Romeo And Juliet
3. Skateaway
4. Expresso Love
5. Hand In Hand
6. Solid Rock
7. Les Boys

Disc: 4
1. Telegraph Road
2. Private Investigations
3. Industrial Disease
4. Love Over Gold
5. It Never Rains

Disc: 5
1. So Far Away
2. Money For Nothing
3. Walk Of Life
4. Your Latest Trick

Disc: 6
1. Why Worry?
2. Ride Across The River
3. The Man's Too Strong
4. One World
5. Brothers In Arms

Disc: 7
1. Calling Elvis
2. On Every Street
3. When It Comes To You
4. Fade To Black
5. The Bug
6. You And Your Friend

Disc: 8
1. Heavy Fuel
2. Iron Hand
3. Ticket To Heaven
4. My Parties
5. Planet Of New Orleans
6. How Long

Share this

More from Dire Straits

More from Rock And Pop