Recording Together For The First Time

Louis Armstrong and Duke Ellington

SKU: 0190295961381

Barcode: 190295961381

19.00 £19.00
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Label: Stateside
  • Released Date: 1st August 2016
  • Buying Format:
    180g 1LP

Out of stock

Add to your Wishlist

Although their paths had crossed from time to time over the years, nobody in the entertainment industry had ever managed to get Armstrong and Ellington into a recording studio to make an album together.

On April 3, 1961, producer Bob Thiele achieved what should be regarded as one of his greatest accomplishments; he organised and supervised a seven-and-a-half-hour session at RCA Victor’s Studio One on East 24th Street in Manhattan, using a sextet combining Duke Ellington with Louis Armstrong & His All-Stars. This group included ex-Ellington clarinetist Barney Bigard, ex-Jimmie Lunceford swing-to-bop trombonist Trummy Young, bassist Mort Herbert, and drummer Danny Barcelona. A second session took place during the afternoon of the following day.

The Armstrong/Ellington master takes were originally issued on two long-playing records; Recording Together for the First Time came out on Roulette in 1961 and The Great Reunion (see below) appeared in 1963.

Buying Options
Format ,

Track Listings

A1 Duke's Place
A2 I'm Just A Lucky So And So
A3 Cotton Tail
A4 Mood Indigo
A5 Do Nothin' Till You Hear From Me
B1 The Beautyful American
B2 Black And Tan Fantasy
B3 Drop Me Off In Harlem
B4 The Mooche
B5 In A Mellowtone

Share this

More from Louis Armstrong and Duke Ellington and more from Jazz