Prisoner In Disguise

Linda Ronstadt


Barcode: 821797130615

46.00 £46.00

Out of stock

Add to your Wishlist

After the chart-topping success of HEART LIKE A WHEEL, Linda Ronstadt released PRISONER IN DISGUISE in 1975, an extremely successful follow-up effort which bolstered her standing as one of America’s most popular singers. Opting not to fiddle with a formula that was working, Ronstadt delivered another collection of well-crafted, carefully arranged rock, pop and country songs that showed off her talent for covering good tunes and rendering them in a way that allowed the melodies to soar on the strength of her graceful voice. The album yielded two strong singles: an exuberant version of the Motown classic “Heat Wave” and a silky-smooth rendition of Smokey Robinson’s “Ooh Baby Baby”, featuring lyrical alto saxophone touches by veteran session man David Sanborn. Ms. Ronstadt makes great use of the poignant ache in her voice on elegaic ballads like James Taylor’s “Hey Mister, That’s Me Up on the Jukebox” and Dolly Parton’s “I Will Always Love You”, which she sings with considerably less vocal histrionics than Whitney Houston would in her remake of the tune some 20 years later.

Buying Options
Format , ,

Track Listings

1. Love Is A Rose
2. Hey Mister, That's Me Up On The Jukebox
3. Roll Um Easy
4. Tracks Of My Tears
5. Prisoner In Disguise
6. Heat Wave
7. Many Rivers To Cross
8. The Sweetest Gift
9. You Tell Me That I'M Falling Down
10. I Will Always Love You
11. Silver Blue

Share this

More from Linda Ronstadt