Permanent Waves – 40th Anniversary


SKU: 0860725

Barcode: 0602508607257

69.00 £69.00
  • Genre: Progressive
  • Label: UMC
  • Released Date: 29th May 2020
  • Buying Format:
    180g 3LP

Out of stock

Add to your Wishlist

40th Anniversary Deluxe Edition 180g Vinyl 3LP of Rush Permanent Waves Features 2015 Remaster of Original Album and Two Discs of Live Bonus Tracks from 1980 Tour Plus Booklet of Unreleased Photos.

Permanent Waves was Rush’s first departure from in-depth, 10-minute plus conceptual song crafting and is deemed as the poignant moment they reinvented themselves and their sound. “We’ve taken it (the conceptual album) to its logical limit and it’s time to do something else,” remarked Geddy Lee. To further reinvent themselves, the band opted to record at Le Studio in Quebec which has been highly credited in the evolution of the Rush sound and would soon become their home away from home for future albums to come.

Giving birth to two of the band’s most important songs in their stable, “The Spirit Of Radio” along with “Freewill” offered fans a long overdue experience: regular radio play. Additionally, the album features the cinematic “Jacob’s Ladder,” the album’s third single “Entre Nous,” the Geddy Lee lyric penned “Different Strings” and the barometer for pure progressive rock “Natural Science.”

Celebrating 40 years of Rush’s Permanent Waves, this Deluxe Edition reissue features three 180-gram audiophile vinyl LPs and a booklet of unreleased photos. LP1 features a 2015 remaster of the original album. LPs 2 and 3 are loaded with unreleased bonus live tracks from three stops on the Permanent Waves World Tour 1980: Manchester Apollo, Manchester, England; Hammersmith Odeon, London, England; and Kiel Auditorium, St. Louis, Missouri, all newly mixed by the band’s longtime producer Terry Brown. Packaged in a slipcase with two album jackets. Jacket 1 is the original album with original insert in a single-pocket jacket. Jacket 2 features the Permanent Waves 1980 tour performances in a gatefold.

• Deluxe Edition 180g Vinyl 3LP
• 2015 remaster of original album
• Unreleased live bonus tracks all newly mixed by the band’s longtime producer Terry Brown
• Booklet of unreleased photos
• Slipcase with two album jackets

Buying Options
Format ,

Track Listings


  1. The Spirit Of Radio
  2. Freewill
  3. Jacob's Ladder
  4. Entre Nous
  5. Different Strings
  6. Natural Science



  1. Beneath, Between & Behind (Live in Manchester)
  2. By-Tor & The Snow Dog (Live in London)
  3. Xanadu (Live in London)
  4. The Spirit Of Radio (Live in Manchester)
  5. Natural Science (Live in Manchester)
  6. A Passage To Bangkok (Live in Manchester)
  7. The Trees (Live in Manchester)



  1. Cygnus X-1 (Live in London)
  2. Cygnus X-1 Book II (Live in London)
  3. Closer To The Heart (Live in Manchester)
  4. Jacob's Ladder (Live in Missouri)
  5. Freewill (Live in London)

Share this

More from Rush

More from Progressive