Merrie Land – Deluxe Boxset

Good, The Bad & The Queen, The

SKU: 0190296941665

Barcode: 0190296941665

86.00 £86.00

Out of stock

Add to your Wishlist

Now the four musical storytellers are back with a new studio album titled ‘Merrie Land’. Produced by Tony Visconti and The Good, The Bad & The Queen was completed in London and Wales this year, during the current ongoing period in which the UK is preparing to leave the European Union, ‘Merrie Land ’is a questioning good-bye letter, a series of observations and reflections on Britishness in 2018. Even though it has been over 10 years since the band last released a record, the timing could not be more apt – there could not be a more perfect band to untangle the optimism, disorientation and confusion in the atmosphere today. With ‘Merrie Land’, the band taps into a creative symbiosis of past and future, drawing inspiration from their shared glittering musical histories and wrapping the hybrid results in a brilliantly postmodern yet thoroughly British package.

The album sees the band’s focus move beyond London with a beautiful and hopeful paean to the Britain of today – an inclusive Britain – and the possibilities of the future. In the band’s own words, Merrie Land is a ten song lament of Anglo-Saxosentialism marking the reluctant end of a relationship, and about picking up the pieces and seeing what can be salvaged. The band set a beautifully muted palette and lustrous finish to bring out a mood that is bruised yet unapologetically defiant and optimistic, and carries the underlying message: we will survive. In times of metaphysical trauma, the people need to forge ahead and wear armour. Here it is, set to the mood music of a nation about to be broken yet undefeated.

56 page A4 hardback book containing cd, sheet music, lyrics and artwork, heavyweight green vinyl LP, exclusive screen print, postcards & plus bonus tracks – This was originally a band website exclusive stock is now available to all. Vinyl has been o/s for months and won’t be re-pressed in the near future.

Buying Options

Track Listings

  1. Introduction
  2. Merrie Land
  3. Gun to the Head
  4. Nineteen Seventeen
  5. The Great Fire
  6. Lady Boston
  7. Drifters & Trawlers
  8. The Truce of Twilight
  9. Ribbons
  10. The Last Man to Leave
  11. The Poison Tree

Share this