Living In The Shadows Part 2: On The Edge Of A Dream

Bert Jansch


Barcode: 809236101563

51.00 £51.00
  • Genre: Folk
  • Label: Earth Records
  • Released Date: 28th April 2017
  • Buying Format:
    4LP Box Set

Out of stock

Add to your Wishlist

Limited edition 4LP casebound book-back box set, comprising Jansch’s three studio albums from the 2000s (Crimson Moon; Edge Of A Dream; The Black Swan), alongside an additional disc of demos and unreleased material. Both studio albums and DAT transfers remastered by Brian Pyle. Comes with high-quality download code. 4LP book-back, download card included. 4CD 24-page hardback book. Following on from Earth’s definitive collection of Jansch’s 1990s works ‘Living In The Shadows Part 2: On The Edge Of A Dream’ picks up from where it left off, bringing together Bert Jansch’s final recordings, made between 2000 and 2006. This remarkable anthology documents some of Jansch’s finest work, and a man at the top of his game, some forty years(!) after his first release. From the brooding resonance of Crimson Moon (where Jansch is joined by Johnny Marr, Bernard Butler and Johnny “Guitar” Hodge, as well as son Adam Jansch and Bert’s wife Loren Jansch) to the intimacy of Edge Of A Dream (Bernard Butler, Hope Sandoval, Dave Swarbrick, Ralph McTell, Johnny “Guitar” Hodge, Paul Wassif, Adam Jansch and Loren Jansch) to the wondrous new folk / trad folk harmony of Black Swan (Beth Orton, Devendra Banhart, Kevin Barker, Helena Espvall, Paul Wassif), these seemingly very different albums all speak of one thing: Bert’s natural talent for turning out extraordinary music, regardless of genre. Disc four, The Setting Of The Sun, takes in more demos and unreleased material, with guest appearances from Gordon Giltrap and Johnny Marr adding additional delight for fans old and new. These peeks into Jansch’s recording process are nothing if not fascinating, with his home studio lending itself perfectly to any recording fancy he might arrive at. Like Part 1, this deluxe case-bound set exhibits the sublime attention to detail that has become Earth Recordings’ calling card. Liner notes come courtesy of colleague Bernard Butler and Bert’s son Adam, while a comprehensive listening guide (by esteemed journalist, Dave Henderson) is also included.

Buying Options
Format ,

Track Listings

DISC ONE - Crimson Moon
1 Caledonia
2 Going Home
3 Crimson Moon
4 Downunder
5 October Song
6 Looking for Love
7 Fool's Mate
8 The River Bank
9 Omie Wise
10 My Donald
11 Neptune's Daughter
12 Singing the Blues

DISC TWO – Edge Of A Dream
1 On the Edge of a Dream
2 All This Remains
3 What is On Your Mind
4 Sweet Death
5 I Cannot Keep From Crying
6 La Luna
7 Gypsy Dave
8 Walking This Road
9 The Quiet Joys of Brotherhood
10 Black Cat Blues
11 Bright Sunny Morning

DISC THREE – The Black Swan
1 The Black Swan
2 High Days
3 When the Sun Comes Up
4 Katie Cruel
5 My Pocket's Empty
6 Watch the Stars
7 A Woman Like You
8 The Old Triangle
9 Bring Your Religion
10 Texas Cowboy Blues
11 Magdalina's Dance
12 Hey Pretty Girl..

DISC FOUR – The Setting Of The Sun (Bonus Disc)
1 Watch The Stars Demo, The Black Swan
2 It Don’t Bother Me Unreleased, With Johnny Marr
3 On The Edge Of A Dream Demo, Edge Of A Dream
4 Walking This Road Demo, Edge Of A Dream
5 My Pocket’s Empty Demo, The Black Swan
6 Cocaine Unreleased, with Johnny Marr
7 Untitled Unreleased
8 Chambertin Unreleased, with Gordon Giltrap
9 Katie Cruel Demo, The Black Swan
10 Fool’s Mate Demo, Crimson Moon
11 The Quiet Joys Of Brotherhood Demo, Edge Of A Dream

Share this

More from Bert Jansch