Jake Shimabukuro, Nolan Verner, & Dave Preston

Jake Shimabukuro Trio

SKU: 0810020500639

Barcode: 0810020500639

18.00 £18.00
  • Genre: Rock And Pop
  • Label: Music Theories
  • Released Date: 14th February 2020
  • Buying Format:
    180g 1LP Coloured Vinyl Includes Download Code


Add to your Wishlist

Over the course of the past 15 years, Jake Shimabukuro has challenged and changed all notions of what was possible with a ukulele. But on his latest album, Trio, the acclaimed musician begins a bold and exciting new chapter in his already remarkable career.

Unlike previous releases on which Shimabukuro sometimes utilized studio musicians recording songs he’d already written, Trio is radically different: It’s a true band album.

The only sounds on the record are performed by himself, bassist Nolan Verner and guitarist Dave Preston, and many of the songs were composed spontaneously in the studio. In this way, Trio lives up to its title as a fully immersive document of the sonic alchemy the three musicians achieve on stage.

“I really wanted to capture the sound that we make when we jam together,” Shimabukuro explains. “We get into this amazing improvisational zone at soundchecks: Nolan will play a cool bassline, and Dave will chime in with these incredible guitar parts. Then I’ll come in right after and play melodies to what they’re doing. So I finally said, ‘We should just go into the studio, hit ‘record’ and see what happens. It would be an experiment, but I had a feeling that great things would come from it.”

Buying Options
Format , , ,

Track Listings

  1. When The Masks Come Down
  2. Twelve
  3. Resistance
  4. Lament
  5. Red Crystal
  6. Morning Blue
  7. Summer Rain
  8. Wish You Were Here
  9. Fireflies
  10. Wai`alae
  11. On The Wing
  12. Strong In Broken Places
  13. Landslide

Share this

More from Rock And Pop