It’s Album Time

Todd Terje


Barcode: 5060186922089

21.00 £21.00

Out of stock

Add to your Wishlist

After a decade of releasing singles, remixes, and edits to large amounts of acclaim among in-the-know dance music fans, Norwegian whiz kid Todd Terje finally made an album of his own in 2014. It’s Album Time is a pretty self-explanatory title, though it could have been called “I Love Many Different Styles of Dance Music and Will Proceed to Put My Warped Spin on All of Them.” Well, that one would have been a mouthful, but it does sort of explain what was in Terje’s head as he whips from one style to the next over the course of the record’s 12 tracks. Stylish neo-disco is what he’s best known for, and if any one style dominates, it’s that. Bouncy dancefloor fillers like “Strandbar,” “Inspector Norse,” “Swing Star, Pt. 2, “and the light-as-a-feather “Oh Joy” set the dials for the heart of the disco ball and form the shiny center of the album. Terje’s unerring grooves and the sophisticated and melodic sounds he lays over the beat make them the easiest tracks to love. He also heads off the floor and into the chillout lounge (“Leisure Suit Preben”) and the tiki room (“Preben Goes to Acapulco”), and gets lucky with a guitar-strumming electro ’80s style (“Delorean Dynamite”) that begs to have some vocoder vocals over the top. The sweeping, ice-colored synths get the job done fine anyway, and it seems like a path Terje would be wise to follow on future releases. [It’s Album Time was also released on LP.] ~ Tim Sendra

Buying Options

Track Listings

Disc 1
1. Intro (It's Album Time)
2. Leisure Suit Preben
3. Preben Goes To Acapulco
4. Svensk Sås
5. Strandbar
6. Delorean Dynamite
Disc 2
1. Johnny and Mary
2. Alfonso Muskedunder
3. Swing Star, Pt. 1
4. Oh Joy
5. Inspector Norse

Share this

More from Electronica