In New York Collected Recordings 1988-1996

Lloyd Cole

SKU: TR458

Barcode: 4015698262292

155.00 £155.00
  • Genre: Rock And Pop
  • Label: Tapete
  • Released Date: 18th December 2020
  • Buying Format:
    7LP Box Set

Out of stock

Add to your Wishlist

‘Lloyd Cole In New York’, released on CD in 2017, will now be available as an exclusive limited edition 7 LP box set via Tapete Records. It features all four solo albums Lloyd released between 1988 and 1996 [‘Lloyd Cole (’90), ‘Don’t Get Weird On Me Babe’ (’91), ‘Bad Vibes’ (’93) and ‘Love Story’ (’95)] plus ‘Smile If You Want To’, the ‘unreleased’ fifth album (including one previously unreleased track), and ‘Demos ‘89-‘94’, 20 recordings from home and studio made public for this release. The box will also feature a 24-page LP booklet about this most erudite of artists by John O’Connell with new interviews with Lloyd and featured musicians, producers and collaborators and a wonderful selection of photos from the period plus a poster and postcards that feature Lloyd shot in New York by feted photographer Kevin Cummins. Lloyd Cole first stepped into the spotlight when Lloyd Cole & The Commotions released their effortlessly hip debut album ‘Rattlesnakes’ in 1984. He went on to make two further albums of cerebral pop with the Commotions (his music from this era was comprehensively catalogued in the LP box set ‘Lloyd Cole & The Commotions – Collected Recordings 1983-1989’). In ’88 Lloyd decamped to New York a solo artist and made a home in the city that had always loomed large in his imagination and he fully embraced its bars, bohemia and beautiful losers. ‘Lloyd Cole In New York’ charts this fascinating phase in Lloyd’s development, which saw him experimenting with his sound and collaborating with some top notch US musicians including guitarist Robert Quine (Richard Hell & the Voidoids, Lou Reed, Brian Eno), drummer Fred Maher (Material, Scritti Politti, Lou Reed) and Matthew ‘Girlfriend’ Sweet. On his first solo album ‘Lloyd Cole’ (aka ‘The X album’ after the artwork) Lloyd embraced an edgier writing style with a nod to Dylan, Lou Reed and, not abandoning his UK roots completely, Marc Bolan. Unfettered from the democracy of The Commotions, he was happy to go wherever his muse took him and produced some of his most enduring songs such as ‘No Blue Skies’, ‘Undressed’ and ‘Ice Cream Girl’. ‘Don’t Get Weird On Me Babe’ was Lloyd’s concept album – one side orchestral (a la Jimmy Webb), the other rock. Lloyd described it as his ‘farewell to rock’. ‘Bad Vibes’, 1993’s about turn into bold psych-baroque experimentalism, polarized fans and critics alike, but songs such as ‘Mr Wrong’, ‘My Way To You’ and ‘So You’d Like To Save The World’ still stand tall. ‘Love Story’, a lot of people’s favourite Lloyd solo record, restored his critical and commercial reputation and he found himself back in the limelight performing its biggest hit ‘Like Lovers Do’, a dreamy sliver of Byrdsian jangle pop. ‘Smile If You Want To’ was supposed to be Cole’s 5th solo album. It was completed, but record company politics meant it was never released. The songs came out on subsequent albums, yet this is the first time they have been released as they were originally intended and fully mastered by Ian Jones at Abbey Road studios. The two LPs ‘Demos ’89–‘94’ offer an insight into the development of Lloyd’s sound over this time, from early tentative recordings as a solo artist finding his way in his adopted home town, to demos he recorded for ‘Love Story’ where he embraced a more pastoral folk sound. They also include Lloyd’s previously unheard version of ‘The Ship Song’ by Nick Cave.

Buying Options
Format ,

Track Listings

LP1 - “Lloyd Cole”

A1. Don’t Look Back
A2. What Do You Know About Love?
A3. No Blue Skies
A4. Loveless
A5. Sweetheart
A6. To The Church
A7. Downtown

B1. A Long Way Down
B2. Ice Cream Girl
B3. Undressed
B4. I Hat To See You Baby Doing This Stuff
B5. Waterline
B6. Mercy Killing

LP2 - “Don’t Get Weird On Me Babe”

A1. Butterfly
A2. There For Her
A3. Margo’s Waltz
A4. Half Of Everything
A5. Man Enough
A6. What He Doesn’t Know

B1. Tell Your Sister
B2. Weeping Wine
B3. To The Lions
B4. Pay For It
B5. The One You Never Had
B6. She’s A Girl And I’m A Man

LP3 – “Bad Vibes”

A1. Morning Is Broken
A2. So You’d Like To Save The World
A3. Holier Than You
A4. Love You So What
A5. Wild Mushrooms
A6. My Way To You

B1. Too Much Of A Good Thing
B2. Fall Together
B3. Mister Wrong
B4. Seen The Future
B5. Can’t Get Arrested

LP4 – “Love Story”

A1. Trigger Happy
A2. Sentimental Fool
A3. I Didn’t Know That You Cared
A4. Love Ruins Everything
A5. Baby
A6. Be There

B1. Unhappy Song
B2. Like Lovers Do
B3. Happy For You
B4. Traffic
B5. Let’s Get Lost
B6. For Crying Out Loud

LP5 - “Smile If You Want To (AKA The Middle Ages)”

A1. Old Enough To Know Better
A2. Memphis
A3. Love Like This Can’t Last
A4. No More Love Songs
A5. Man On The Verge
A6. Santa Cruz
A7. Alright People

B1. You’re A Big Girl Now
B2. Another Lover
B3. 39 Downtown
B4. Went To Woodstock
B5. I’m Gone
B6. Fool You Are (Demo)
B7. Weakness

LP6 - “Demos 89-94 – Part 1”

A1. A Long Way Down
A2. Sweetheart
A3. Ice Cream Girl
A4. Wild Orphan
A5. Loveless

B1. What Do You Know About Love?
B2. I Know You Too Well
B3. The Witching Hour
B4. The English Weather
B5. I Confess

LP7 - “Demos 89-94 Part 2”

A1. To The Lions
A2. The Ship Song
A3. Pay For It
A4. Weeping Wine
A5. The One You Never Had

B1. Weird On Me
B2. Casanova Smith
B3. Cold Empty Room
B4. Everyday
B5. She Loves You
B4. I Don´t Belive You (Live New York 1986)

Share this

More from Lloyd Cole and more from Rock And Pop