On Sale

Goodnight City

Martha Wainwright


Barcode: 5414939945397

8.99 £17.00 £8.99
Add to your Wishlist

Martha Wainwright releases a wonderful new studio album, ‘Goodnight City’ November 11th on [PIAS]. It’s the follow-up to her acclaimed 2012 release
‘Come Home To Mama’.

‘Goodnight City’ features 12 brand new songs produced by Thomas Bartlett (Surfjan Stevens, Glen Hansard) and long time producer Brad Albetta. It recalls the emotional rawness of her debut album, much of it encapsulated by the captivating lead track ‘Around The Bend’ and her extraordinary voice.

“Making ‘Goodnight City’ was the most fun I’ve had in a long time,” Martha admits. “Thomas (keys), Brad (electric/bass), Phil Melanson (drums) and I would sit in a circle and work out arrangements for these vividly different songs. Recording them live with very few overdubs the focus remains on the integrity of the song and our ability to play together as a band.”

Martha wrote half the songs on the album while the other half were written by friends and relatives: Beth Orton, Glen Hansard, Rufus, Wainwright, Michael Ondaatje and Merrill Garbus of tune-yArDs.

“Because these writers know me and because I was able to personalise these songs by changing things here and there, I made them feel as if I wrote them myself,” Martha explains. “Somehow they wonderfully reflect my life and I am so thankful to the other artists for writing them.”

‘Goodnight City’ was recorded in Montreal. Last year Martha and Lucy Wainwright Roche released ‘Songs In The Dark’ as the Wainwright Sisters.

Buying Options
Format ,

Track Listings

1. Around The Bend
2. Franci
3. Traveller
4. Look Into My Eyes
5. Before the Children Came Along
6. Window
7. Piano Music
8. Alexandria
9. So Down
10. One Of Us
11. Take The Reins
12. Francis

Share this

More from Martha Wainwright and more from Rock And Pop