Glum (25th Anniversary Edition)

Giant Sand


Barcode: 0809236117618

21.00 £21.00
Add to your Wishlist

“A blend of rock, folk, and country with some high-octane, gloriously dissonant twists.” All Music

25-year anniversary re-issue of Giant Sand’s eclectic gem ‘Glum’. “A whole new music, Infant Free Jazz” Stewart Lee

A conceptual masterpiece, complete with a second disc capturing a classic KCRW Morning Becomes Eclectic session just prior to the original album’s release in 1994, plus five bonus tracks available for digital download. An epic windswept desert dry encounter with one of America’s greatest bands that traverses genres and styles to create a complete masterpiece.

“While the guitars still squall and roar, they’re used more sparingly, erupting to devastating effect in gloomy, low-key songs.” The Quietus

Emotional and uplifting, and always thought provoking, the band’s line up of Howe Gelb, latter day Calexico’s Joey Burns and John Convertino are joined by Victoria Williams, Pete Holsapple, Chris Cacavas, Pappy Allen and Lisa Germano, the whole shebang produced by Daniel Lanois protégé Malcolm Burn. “Giant Sand move to the darker side of their emotional stew. Within is jazz, country, folk, blues even Glam, we’re led to believe the mainstay is downbeat but the result is monumental.” Happenstance magazine

Buying Options

Track Listings

  1. Glum
  2. Yer Ropes
  3. Happenstance
  4. Frontage Road
  5. Painted Bird
  6. 1 Helvakowboy Song
  7. Spun
  8. Left
  9. Faithful
  10. Bird Song
  11. I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry
  12. World Stands Still – KCRW SESSION
  13. I Wish You Love - KCRW SESSION
  14. Interview - KCRW SESSION
  15. Lester Lampshade - KCRW SESSION
  16. Get To Leave - KCRW SESSION
  17. Left - KCRW SESSION
  18. I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry - KCRW SESSION
  19. Interview - KCRW SESSION
  20. Instrumental - KCRW SESSION

Share this

More from Giant Sand