Peter And The Test Tube Babies

SKU: 0727361502911

Barcode: 0727361502911

20.00 £20.00

Out of stock

Add to your Wishlist

1978 and seventeen year old punk rockers Peter Bywaters and Del Strangefish decide to form a punk band and PETER AND THE TEST TUBE BABIES are born. After a couple of rehearsals they make their first recording ‘Elvis Is Dead’ which appears on the Vaultage ‘78 compilation of Brighton new wave bands. Radio 1 DJ John Peel loved the song instantly and offered the band a live session The success was breathtaking and they became one of the hottest unsigned bands in the UK overnight.

The first single ‘Banned From The Pubs’ followed fast, and fans and press freaked out in equal measure. From that moment everything went crazy, sold out concert halls in England and Europe and their big success in the media pushed their debut album ‘Pissed And Proud’ to #1 in the English independent charts. Directly after that ‘The Mating Sounds Of South American Frogs’ was released – a must have for every record collection – and sold more than 100,000 copies, resulting in invitations to perform from far and wide.

THE TEST TUBES BABIES have continued to play shows all over the world and cemented their status as one of the most brilliant and funniest live bands in punk rock culture.A few bass players and drummers have served their time in the band, but the songwriters Peter & Del have always remained the foundation and together they wrote and recorded a long list of classic albums like ‘Soberphobia’, and the brilliant ‘Supermodels’.

In 2018, their 40th anniversary year, PETER AND THE TEST TUBE BABIES signed with Arising Empire; recruiting Nick Abnett and Sam Fuller on bass and drums respectively, they recorded and released their now critically acclaimed album ‘That Shallot’.In 2020 and against all the odds the band have pulled the rabbit out of the hat and come up trumps again with their best record to date ‘Fuctifano’ (say it quickly), featuring the tongue-in-cheek and near-the-knuckle Punk anthems such as ‘Facebook Loser’ and ‘Queen Of Fucking Everything’.

Buying Options

Track Listings

  1. Liver's Lament
  2. Facebook Loser
  3. Hell To Pay
  4. Cydrated
  5. Saturday Dad
  6. Gravy Train
  7. I Ain't Missing Her Yet
  8. Wanker
  9. Small Victories
  10. Punched Awake
  11. Tales Of The Bleedin' Obvious
  12. Screwed Down
  13. Queen Of Fucking Everything
  14. Liver's Lament (Reprise)

Share this