Fuck Art

Dirty Nil, The


20.00 20.00 £20.00 £20.00
Add to your Wishlist

When The Dirty Nil first convened in Toronto’s Union Studios earlier this year to record the follow-up to their 2018 Juno Award-nominated crusher, Master Volume, the coronavirus had just begun its North American tour and talk of border closures started creeping into the headlines. Suddenly, what was supposed to be a leisurely recording process became a tense, do-or-die mission, as producer John Goodmanson was forced to hightail it back home to Seattle. Left with the decision of whether or not to continue the record, the band opted to finish remotely by sending things back and forth rather than pressing pause. “It was the one thing we had control over while humanity was powerless,” singer/guitarist Luke Bentham recalls. “It became a time where we could crack open a couple cans, play some tunes, and focus on what it was we actually could do—which was make the greatest rock ‘n’ roll record of all time.” The result is the beautifully blasphemous Fuck Art, a statement of confidence and defiance from a group that’s now three albums into the game—i.e., the point where ambitious rock bands are supposed to call in the orchestra, experiment with electronics, and try to make their Ok Computer. The Dirty Nil, by contrast, have opted to perfect the formula that, over the past decade, has landed them on stages with everyone from Against Me! to The Who. Fuck Art melts down all of their favourite ingredients—classic-rock heroism, pop-punk horsepower, ‘80s indie scrappiness, ‘90s alterna-crunch, speed-metal adrenaline—into a radiant, chromatic solution they can then mould and harden into unpredictable shapes. For Fans of: White Reaper, The Darkness, Culture Abuse, PUP, Drug Church, Iron Chic, RVIVR, The Menzingers, Against Me! Key marketing highlights: – 16.68+ Million Global streams to date – 1+ Million Youtube views to date – Critical acclaim from most recent singles from Brooklyn Vegan, Kerrang Magazine, Loudwire, Rock Sound and more – 2017 winner of the JUNO Breakthrough Group of the Year award, 2019 nominee for Rock album of the Year award – Sold out shows in Chicago, Washington, Philadelphia and Toronto on ‘Idiot Victory’ headline tour – Toured with White Reaper, Against Me!, Glorious Sons

Buying Options ,
Format ,

Track Listings

  1. Doom Boy
  2. Damage Control
  3. Hello Jealousy
  4. Blunt Force Concussion
  5. Possession
  6. Elvis '77
  7. To The Guy Who Stole My Bike
  8. Done With Drugs
  9. Ride Or Die
  10. One More And The Bill
  11. Hang Yer Moon

Share this

View Product

Planes Mistaken For Stars

Prey – RSD 2016 Exclusive

Alternative Rock / Punk Rock / Emo | Deathwish Inc. | 1LP, Coloured Vinyl, Includes Download Code
Released 14th November 2016
  • Genre: Alternative Rock / Punk Rock / Emo
  • Label: Deathwish Inc.
  • SKU: 0640841637302
  • Formats: 1LP, Coloured Vinyl, Includes Download Code
  • Released Date: 14th November 2016