Dick’s Picks Vol. 36—The Spectrum, Philadelphia, PA 9/21/72

Grateful Dead


Barcode: 848064011385

215.00 £215.00


Add to your Wishlist

Having Reissued all of the Grateful Dead’s Dick’s Picks Series on CD, Real Gone Music Is Now Cherry-Picking Key Volumes to Put Out on Vinyl for the First Time Ever

• The Grateful Dead’s September 21, 1972 Concert at The Spectrum in Philadelphia Has Long Been Deemed One of the Greatest, If Not the Greatest, Performance by the Band Ever

• The Show Was So Good That It Was Strongly Considered by Original Dead Archivist Dick Latvala to Lead Of the Dick’s Picks Series of Live Dead Recordings, and It Is the One That Ended It with Dick’s Picks Vol. 36

• Every Member of the Band Plays at an Inspired Level, Especially Bob Weir, Whose Of-Time Guitar Fills and Unusual Chord Voicings Perfectly Complement Jerry Garcia’s Soaring, Lyrical Leads

• Also Features Titanic Versions of “He’s Gone,” “The Other One,” and “Wharf Rat” Taken from a 9/3/72 Show At Folsom Field in Boulder, CO

• 7-LP Set Pressed in 180-Gram Vinyl at Furnace Record Pressing

• Originally Recorded by Owsley “Bear” Stanley in Astonishing Clarity and Immediacy

• Remastered from the Original Tapes by Jefrey Norman at Mockingbird Mastering

• Lacquer Cutting by Jef Powell, Who Got His Start at Memphis’ Ardent Studios and Has Worked with Everybody from Bob Dylan to Gregg Allman to Irma Thomas

• Vacuum-Quiet Test Pressings Approved by Jefrey Norman, Dead Archivist David Lemieux, and Real Gone’s Own Gordon Anderson

• Each Record Nestled in a Polyvinyl Inner Sleeve Inside a Hardshell Two-Piece Box

• LP-Sized 4-Page Insert Features Bear’s Original Liner Notes and New Notes from Bear’s Son Starfinder Stanley That Lend Additional Context to the Recording, Which Comes Courtesy of the Owsley Stanley Foundation


In the Grateful Dead firmament, there are countless good shows, shining like stars in the sky. Then there are the great shows, those that shine the brightest. And then there are the truly transcendent shows, those that exert a gravitational pull—dare we say it, like a “Dark Star”—on all the other concerts from that particular year or tour. These are the nights that every Dead Head learns about right after getting on board the bus… and the September 21, 1972 performance at the Spectrum in Philadelphia is truly one of those nights. This is the concert that original Dead archivist Dick Latvala strongly considered to kick off the Dick’s Picks series, and it’s the one that ended it. It’s one of those nights when every Garcia guitar solo tells a story, when the rhythm section is locked in like the gears on a Swiss watch, and when the band is repeatedly hitting its vocal harmonies dead-on. It’s also a night when Bob Weir absolutely shreds, his unusual chord voicings and off-time guitar fills perfectly complementing Jerry’s leads (the set also includes some highlights from the 9/3/72 show at Folsom Field in Boulder, CO). So when we at Real Gone Music were considering which Pick to put on vinyl next, the choice was pretty obvious. But to do this concert justice, we had to bring in the best. This 7-LP set is mastered for vinyl by Jeffrey Norman at Mockingbird Mastering from Bear’s original tapes, which are absolutely brilliant in their clarity and immediacy. Lacquers are cut by Jeff Powell, who got his start at Memphis’ legendary Ardent Studios and has worked with everybody from Bob Dylan to Gregg Allman to Irma Thomas. Pressed on 180-gram vinyl at Furnace Record Pressing, the vacuum-quiet test pressings were approved by engineer Norman, archivist David Lemieux, and Real Gone’s own Gordon Anderson. And each of the seven LPs is housed inside a polyvinyl sleeve carefully nestled (with extra padding!) inside a two-piece hardshell box. We’ve also included a 4-page insert featuring, along with original photos and graphics and Bear’s original notes, a word from Bear’s son Starfinder Stanley on behalf of the Owsley Stanley Foundation, who kindly provided the tapes for our reissue. Limited to 2000 hand-numbered copies, this one’s going to be a keepsake. Don’t miss it.

Buying Options
Format ,

Track Listings

Set One
1. Promised Land
2. Bird Song
3. El Paso

1. China Cat Sunflower
2. I Know You Rider
3. Black Throated Wind

1. Big Railroad Blues
2. Jack Straw
3. Loser
4. Big River

1. Ramble On Rose
2. Cumberland Blues

1. Playing in the Band

Set Two
1. He’s Gone

1. Truckin’
2. Black Peter

1. Mexicali Blues
2. Dark Star

1. Dark Star (cont.)

1. Morning Dew
2. Beat It On Down the Line

1. Mississippi Half-Step Uptown Toodeloo
2. Sugar Magnolia
3. Friend of the Devil

1. Not Fade Away
2. Goin’ Down the Road Feeling Bad
3. Not Fade Away
4. One More Saturday Night
From 9/3/72 Folsom Field, Boulder, CO

1. He’s Gone
2. The Other One

1. The Other One (cont.)
2. Wharf Rat

Share this

More from Grateful Dead

More from Rock And Pop