Deep River

Jon Allen


Barcode: 5037300829104

15.00 £15.00

Out of stock

Add to your Wishlist

Acclaimed singer-songwriter Jon Allen will release his album Deep River on vinyl for the first time this July, having released the original in 2014. The album, the third of Allen’s career, has been preceded by the release of the album’s opening track “Night & Day” (playlisted on BBC Radio 2) and a further single “Falling Back”. Deep River contains some of Jon’s best work. To him, it’s simple. “I just try to write music that moves me. I’m trying to express some truthfulness. There are no gimmicks, no beeps and whistles.” On it he channels everyone from Dylan to Shakespeare, via Al Green, JJ Cale and John Martyn, and even manages to write a romantic song about bankers (“I know there’s not a lot of sympathy for bankers, but you can get off on retribution, and it’s dangerous”). Winchester-born Allen was originally discovered by Mark Knopfler in 2006 (who later offered to play guitar for him), but it was the single ‘In Your Light’ from Allen’s 2009 debut album Dead Man’s Suit that landed him a coveted spot on “Later…with Jools Holland”. ‘Deep River’, Allen’s last album, released in 2014, received the best reviews of his career to-date from the UK’s national press and was made BBC Radio 2’s ‘Album of The Week’. After his UK tour to promote ‘Deep River’, Jon to a break to write songs with and for other artists, while also writing music for films. Live… Jon has been on the road throughout the summer and autumn from 1st May, first on his own headline tour, then will support the legendary Dionne Warwick on her European tour, and in between finding the time to squeeze in some support shows for Jools Holland.

Buying Options

Track Listings

A1 Night & Day 4:14
A2 Lady Of The Water 3:14
A3 Falling Back 3:14
A4 Hummingbird Blues 3:34
A5 Fire In My Heart 3:30
A6 Deep River 3:54
B1 Wait For Me 3:21
B2 Get What's Mine 4:51
B3 By My Side 3:41
B4 All The Money's Gone 3:34
B5 Loving Arms 3:40
B6 Keep Moving On 2:54

Share this

More from Jon Allen and more from Rock And Pop