On Sale

Choir of Echoes

Peggy Sue


Barcode: 5055036213851

8.99 £17.00 £8.99
  • Genre: Folk
  • Label: Wichita
  • Released Date: 22nd January 2014
  • Buying Format:
    180g 1LP Includes CD
Add to your Wishlist

Peggy Sue are far from your average post-folk band; they carefully craft together beautiful harmonies that glide over a sea of delicate guitars and piercing drums to create a coming together of sounds whose power is unlike any other. The songs possess an immense intricacy in their layers and details ensuring the listeners respond to their cinematic quality. · In their own words, “‘Choir Of Echoes’ is an album about singing. About losing your voice and finding it again. Voices keeping each other company and voices competing for space. The call and response of the kindest and the cruelest words. Choruses. Duets. Whispers and shouts.”

This, the band’s third album for Wichita Recordings, was recorded by Jimmy Robertson (the man who made the ‘Peggy Sue Play The Songs Of Scorpio Rising’ collection), and mixed by John Askew (who also worked with the band on their debut full length, ‘Fossils And Other Phantoms’).

Since the release of their sophomore full length, ‘Acrobats’, in 2011, the band self-released a covers album inspired by a Kenneth Anger film (‘Peggy Sue Play The Songs Of Scorpio Rising’) and toured with First Aid Kit, Joan As Policewoman, Wild Flag and Jack White, as well as embarking on many headline tours of their own. They head back out on the road in support of the album next year.

Available as 180g vinyl with folded insert and copy of the album on CD.

Genre ,
Buying Options
Format , ,

Track Listings

1. (Come Back Around)
2. Esme
3. Substitute
4. Figure of Eight
5. Always Going
6. Just the Night
7. How Heavy the Quiet That Grew Between Your Mouth and Mine
8. Electric Light
9. Longest Day of the Year Blues
10. Idle
11. And Always is
12. Two Shots
13. The Errors of Your Ways

Share this

More from Folk