Beck Bogert and Appice

Beck Bogert and Appice


Barcode: 4260019714176

24.00 £24.00

Out of stock

Add to your Wishlist

On the whole, the supergroups of the Seventies didn’t last very long, but for that – all the more notably. This certainly applies to the Anglo-American trio made up of the extremely talented though narcissistic guitarist Jeff Beck, the bass-player Tim Bogert, and the drummer Carmine Appice.

As early as 1970, the British Beck wanted to engage the two American musicians for a joint project. This plan however had to be postponed for two years because the speed-mad Beck had had a serious car accident and needed time to recover. 1973 saw the release of the trio’s first and only studio album, which not only demonstrated Beck’s powerful hectic style of guitar playing but also allowed his musical companions to show off their prowess. The trio applied their musical talents to all facets of rock ’n’ roll, right from the bluesy first number (“Black Cat Moan”), via the agile rock sound of “Lady”, ending up with the moans of a vocal love ballad (“Oh To Love You”), followed by a really convincing gospel song (“Sweet And Surrender”) and the super funky beat of “Lose Myself With You”.

The trio seemed to lust for more – but this was not to be. For the very next year, during the intense preparations for their next studio album, the moody Jeff Beck dissolved the group on the spur of the moment.

Jeff Beck, guitar, vocals
Tim Bogert, bass, vocals
Carmine Appice, drums, vocals
Jimmy Greenspoon, piano
Duane Hitchings, piano, mellotron
Danny Hutton, background vocals

Buying Options
Format ,

Track Listings

1. Black Cat Moan
2. Lady
3. Oh To Love You
4. Superstition
5. Sweet Sweet Surrender
6. Why Should I Care
7. Lose Myself With You
8. LIvin' Alone
9. I'm So Proud

Share this

More from Rock And Pop

View Product

George Martin

The Film Scores & Original Orchestral Music of George Martin

Rock And Pop | Atlas Realisations | 2LP, Gatefold Sleeve, Includes Download Code
Released 10th November 2017
  • Genre: Rock And Pop
  • Label: Atlas Realisations
  • SKU: ARLP008L
  • Formats: 2LP, Gatefold Sleeve, Includes Download Code
  • Released Date: 10th November 2017