A Sailor’s Guide To Earth

Sturgill Simpson

SKU: 0075678668296

Barcode: 075678668296

18.00 £18.00

Out of stock

Add to your Wishlist

‘A Sailor’s Guide To Earth’ is Sturgill Simpson’s third full-length album and follows his break-through Grammy-nominated 2014 release ‘Metamodern Sounds In Country Music’. Beloved by critics and fans, the record was featured on year-end ‘best of’ lists at The New York Times, Rolling Stone, The Village Voices Jazz & Pop, Rolling Stone Country, NPR Music, American Songwriter, Stereogum, The Los Angeles Times, KCRW, Pitchfork, The Washington Post and many others.

Produced by Simpson, ‘A Sailor’s Guide To Earth’ was written – beginning to end – as a letter to his first child, who arrived during the summer of 2014 and features eight original songs as well as a rendition of Nirvana’s ‘In Bloom’.

Recorded primarily at Nashville’s ‘The Butcher Shoppe’, Simpson was joined in the studio by Grammy Award-winning engineer David Ferguson (Johnny Cash, John Prime, ‘Cowboy’ Jack Clement) and assistant engineer Sean Sullivan. Along with members of his touring band, the album features Dave Roe on bass, Dan Dugmore on steel guitar, Dougie Wilkinson on bagpipes, Garo Yellin and Arthur Cook on cello, Jonathan Dinklage and Whitney LaGrange on violin and special guests The Dap-Kings.

Buying Options

Track Listings

01. Welcome to Earth (Pollywog)
02. Breakers Roar
03. Keep It Between the Lines
04. Sea Stories
05. In Bloom
06. Brace for Impact (Live a Little)
07. All Around You
08. Oh Sarah
09. Call to Arms

Share this

More from Sturgill Simpson and more from Americana / Country