1963 Demo Sessions

Phil Ochs


Barcode: 8592735002593

25.00 £25.00
  • Genre: Folk
  • Label: Mr Suit
  • Released Date: 20th November 2014
  • Buying Format:

Out of stock

Add to your Wishlist

On April 4, 1963, a year before the release of his legendary debut LP, Phil Ochs recorded the 25 songs here onto a friend’s reel-to-reel tape recorder while in the midst of an engagement at a Fort Lauderdale, FL coffee house. Most of the songs here are, as expected, topical folk songs; only a few of which appeared on his albums and the majority are only available in these early, formative versions. Covering all manner of current events, from the civil rights movement and the Cuban missile crisis to more obscure issues like Mexican land reform, one can find in this amazing 2LP collection the roots of America’s most important protest singer since the legend himself, Woody Guthrie. Another essential American folk collection from Mr. Suit.

Limited edition of 500 copies.

Buying Options

Track Listings

1. The A.M.A. Song
2. The Ballad of Davey Moore
3. On My Way
4. Morning
5. The Ballad of U.S. Steel
6. Once I Lived the Life of a Commissar
7. Lou Marsh
8. New Town
9. Hazard, Kentucky
10. Time Was
11. I'll Be There
12. Paul Crump
13. The Ballad of William Worthy
14. The Power and the Glory
15. The Ballad of Oxford, Mississippi
16. Talking Cuban Crisis
17. How Long
18. Never Again
19. Don't Try Again
20. First Snow
21. Bobby Dylan Record
22. The Ballad of Rubén Jaramillo
23. The Ballad of Alfred Packer
24. Talking Airplane Disaster
25. Spanish Lament

Share this

More from Folk